Vegan

Customers often inquire about the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan diet. Although both vegetarians and vegans don’t consume meat, there is a difference.   

What is a vegetarian diet?
Individuals following a strict vegetarian diet don’t eat meat, fish, or poultry.

What is a vegan diet?
In addition to following a strict vegetarian diet, vegans do not use or consume other animal products and by-products including, eggs, dairy products, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products.

Shopping tips for vegans
Here’s a quick reference guide if you’re shopping for a friend who is vegan, or you’re new to the vegan diet.
 
  1. Look for products that are labelled “Certified Vegan.”
  2. Check the labels of all packaged products that you use in cooking, such as bouillon powder, stock cubes, sauces and spreads, as they may contain animal products.
  3. Ingredients to look out for include whey, casein and lactose, which are all derived from milk.
  4. Remember most breads and pastries contain butter and some contain milk.
  5. In desserts and puddings replace gelatine with agar or vege-gel, as they’re both derived from seaweed.
  6. Use silken or soft tofu as an alternative to dairy in desserts, and be sure to use fortified dairy alternatives for the added vitamins.
  7. Always read packaging carefully when shopping. If concerned, it’s always best to follow up with the manufacturer directly by visiting their company website, or locating the phone number and/or address from the packaging.
For additional information on vegan diets please visit: